clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jim Thorpe Award Watch List Includes Edwards

Edwards was included on a list that features some of the best secondary talent in the country.

James Guillory-USA TODAY Sports

Congratulations to Zach Edwards, who has made his way into #WatchListSeason by being named to the Jim Thorpe Award watch list.

Edwards is one of 39 FBS contenders named to the list and one of four players from the American Athletic Conference. Also included are UConn’s Jamar Summers, USF’s Deatrick Nichols and Temple’s Sean Chandler. Summers and Nichols were each first-team All-AAC performers last season, while Chandler was named to the second-team.

Edwards was an honorable mention for All-AAC recognition in 2015. He led the Bearcats in interceptions (3) and solo tackles (64), while ranking second in total tackles (94) behind linebacker Eric Wilson. The 6’1" safety has accumulated 288 total tackles in three seasons with the Bearcats, including a career-best 121 in 2014. He has also nabbed seven interceptions during his career.

The Jim Thorpe Award is given to the best defensive back in the country every year and has been since 1986. Iowa cornerback Desmond King won the award last season and will defend the crown in 2016 as he decided to return to school.