clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Battle for the Victory Bell to Kickoff at 8 p.m.

Cincinnati will play Miami-Ohio under the lights.

NCAA Football: Miami (Ohio) at Cincinnati David Kohl-USA TODAY Sports

The 122nd edition of the Battle for the Victory Bell will be played in prime time, as the Cincinnati Bearcats will take on the Miami-Ohio RedHawks at Yager Stadium in Oxford on Sept. 16 at 8 p.m. The game will be televised on FOX 19 and ESPN3.

While certainly not the most storied rivalry in college football, the Battle of the Bell is one of the longest, dating back to the 1890s. It is the fifth most-played rivalrys in the sport, as every year since 1945, the Bearcats and RedHawks have clashed in one of the the oldest non-conference, intrastate matchups.

Surprisingly enough, Miami actually leads the all-time series, although it has been hotly contested, with seven ties and 52 games decided by seven points or fewer. However, Cincinnati has dominated the rivalry over the last decade, winning 11-straight, including a 27-20 triumph last fall. The 11-game winning streak is by far the longest by either side in the rivalry’s history.

Last season, the Bearcats rushed for 185 yards and got running touchdowns from Tion Green, Mike Boone and Ross Trail to secure the victory. They also doubled up the RedHawks in first downs (28-14) while pounding out a 461-313 edge in total yards.

We now know the times for UC’s first four games of the season, with game times against Austin Peay, Michigan and Navy announced a couple weeks ago. In addition, we know that the Nov. 10 game against Temple will be played at 7 p.m.